Top Ten Tuesday

http://www.brokeandbookish.com/2014/04/top-ten-gateway-booksauthors-in-our.html
This is a weekly Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish Where Fellow Book Bloggers Share The Top Ten of The Given Subject.

Top Ten Blogging Confessions

1. I have no idea how to use the common blogging sites Netgallery and Bloglovin. Even though I have an account, I have no idea what it is for let alone how to use it.

2. I have been blogging for a year and I still don’t have a clue how to make my design look more professional. I am still discovering new things every day such as InLinkz.Β 

3. Sometimes I still get upset over the lack of comments on my actual reviews. Maybe one day will I get into the big blogging world!

4. I have contemplated giving up Mythology Monday more than once due to no one else joining in, however I stuck with it and hope for the future.

5. When I reviewed the first book that was requested by an author I was wary about saying anything bad to upset them….

6. I tend to sometimes write so many reviews at once that I get bored of reviewing. Note to self: Little and Often!

7. I sometimes take so long to get round to writing a review that I just cut that book off my list completely.

8. I am very behind in the books that are up and coming and current. To be honest I just read the backlog of books I have on my shelf at home and hope that I am promoting alternative old books for my readers instead of the new books out.

9. I am sometimes very bad at revealing spoilers. This is because I can’t help but have to discuss the big twists that make the book so spectacular. Just look out for the warnings in my post!

10. I run out of time to go and look at so many other blogs now. I used to read loads via email subscription. Now I can only fit in the odd couple here and there.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Haha! I just figured out how to use Netgalley yesterday! I'm sure someone would be willing to help you figure it out. πŸ™‚ I bought my blog template on Etsy! There are tons of people there who can design and install your template to make your blog exactly what you want! And I totally know how you feel about your comments. I've only been at it for three months and it bums me out that I seem to only get comments on memes. Oh well… I do agree that the more you comment elsewhere, the more comments you get. And number five is on my list too! Great list!

    Here are my Confessions!

    Like

  2. I love Bloglovin, because I can read snippets of all the blogs I follow (since it is obviously impossible to read everyone's posts every day!) and then decide which I MUST read. While I understand Netgalley, it scares the crap out of me πŸ˜‰ Mainly because I cannot get Google Analytics to work for anything, so I have no idea how to report stats :/

    As for review comments, I find that even on the “big” blogs, they are a little sparse sometimes. (Don't get me wrong, I still totally stress about it, but it makes me stress a bit less, so maybe it will help you too!)

    And the blog look thing.. ugh. I literally tried for months and months, learned more html than I ever intended to learn, and eventually gave up and paid someone. There are more inexpensive designs out there, and I justified it as me not going crazy trying to design myself, since I was very obviously bad at it/hated it πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. NetGalley and Bloglovin' are both really easy to use. It just takes a little time to get used to the way they're set up. I love both sites and use them often.

    Like

  4. +JMJ+

    Alternative old books are great! I personally take a long time to feel excited about anything, so when blogs are focussed on new releases, I don't find much of interest in them. On the other hand, I've finally started reading the novels which came out in the wake of Twilight, and now it's a pleasure to go through the archives of those blogs and read their old reviews. =)

    My own meme is just a feature now, because people stopped joining two years ago. I was gutted when it happened, but I still like writing about settings even if no one else does, so I still keep it up. It's not as regular as it used to be, though!

    Like

  5. You should definitely check out Bloglovin and NetGalley, they are my blogging saviours. Especially Bloglovin because I can keep up to date with blogs I follow so, so easily without getting a zillion email notifications every day. I wouldn't worry about comments on reviews – nearly every blogger says it's their least viewed posts and least commented on. We tend to only read reviews by either bloggers whose opinions we love, or for books we have a specific interest in, whereas discussion posts…inspire discussion! I like to mix it up between new released and older books, I think it's nice to spread the word about older titles. And I've read your Mythology Monday posts – I think they're interesting, I don't know enough about Myths and Legends myself really to take part, but maybe I should. I'm Irish, and we have a lot of that in our history – giants, banshees, faeries etc…

    My TTT

    Like

Leave me a message after the beep...

