Let’s Get 10 Know You: Ben Porter

Interview with Ben Porter

In Hell Exhale (BlackCloud Chronicles Book #1)

30133760

Goodreads Description

A story driven by greed, revenge and the boundaries that push friendships to there absolute limits. Jennifer finds herself in a world she never grew up in, on the run from a maniacal ruler hell bent on getting to her at all costs. But are things really what they seem, or is there someone behind the curtain pulling the strings, for plans that are much more vile and self indulgent at heart. Will Jennifer be strong enough to stand up for what she believes in when the world she thought she knew comes crumbling down around her and will you be strong enough to stand by her side…

You can buy the book Here Kindle Edition £1.99 (as of when posted)

Lets get to know you

 1. Hello and welcome to The Reading Rose, Can you tell us more about your book please?

My book is about a girl called Jennifer who is absolutely fed up with her life. Every day is the same boring trek just to try to get through to the end. She knows it needs to change. And then when someone offers her an offer she simply can’t refuse everything begins to slowly unravel and turns into a fantastical game of cat and mouse. Jennifer is on the run for reasons she’s not quite sure off, in a world she doesn’t know, trying to get back to her family.

2. Out of all your characters, who was the most fun to write and why?

I think it would have to be Alixander. he is just the ultimate evil and narcissistic villain. He does what he wants, when he wants and kills who he wants regardless of anything around him or the situation he’s in. Which makes it a fun character to write and because he has absolutely no boundaries that also means that the readers never really quite sure what he’s about to do. Even me, I write it and I’m never quite sure what he’s about to do.

3. How did you come up with the idea for your book?

It all started from the first paragraph, that’s the first thing I wrote for the story. But I never planned on it turning into a full novel, that was supposed to be it. I used to write a lot of much smaller things. Stories, poems and things that weren’t any longer than a couple of pages. Often just dramatic and to the point. Writing a novel takes a lot more staying power that I didn’t necessarily think I had. I can’t remember the reason, but whatever it was I just decided to try and take the story as far as I could. Now I’m one book down with many more to come and I haven’t looked back.

4. What tips would you give to anyone aspiring to be an author themselves?

I know it’s cliché, but probably just to never give up. I think that no matter what life throws at you, you should always strive to do something that you enjoy doing and something that’s not necessarily just for the money. Trust me, I know life can be difficult. I’ve had my dark times just like everybody else. But the trick (well at the very least) is to make sure you’re always keeping your head above water, at least for the sanity of your soul. Like me, right now I make practically no money from writing, it’s my hobby. I make my living from my day job and as hard as that can be, I still try to make sure I find time to write. It’s what I enjoy so it also relieves some of the stresses that life often creates for me. So whether it be an author, or anything else under the sun my advice would still be the same. Find something you enjoy and don’t stop doing it.

5. What inspired your book cover and what do you love most about it?

The amazing Yoskay Yamamoto did the artwork for me because I have as much artistic ability as I have flying ability. Which is practically none in case your someone who doesn’t really know me that well, I mean I can sometimes hover for a few seconds but only if absolutely no one is watching me and they just take my word at face value. It turned out better than I could have ever imagined. I’m so happy I got him to do it. I sent him the first few chapters from my book and his inspiration came from a few things that Jennifer talks about. He sent me a few mock ups and I chose the one I liked the most and it really is stunningly beautiful.

6. Why did you decide to become a writer?

I wouldn’t say that I necessarily ‘decided’ to become a writer. It’s just something I’ve always done and something I’ll always do. Whether I make money from it is irrelevant. I’m writing now even though I’m making almost nothing from it. so that won’t change if it suddenly takes off. It just means I’ll be able to spend more time doing it which I would absolutely love.

7. What would you say is the best thing about having your own book published?

I spent a lot of years saying over and over that I was going to do it and it got to the point where I thought that maybe I was just fooling myself into believing that it was something I could achieve. But regardless of what anyone says, it’s living, breathing proof that I could write a book and no one can take that away from me. From the cover to the contents inside it’s something I’m defiantly proud of.

8. What do you like to do in your free time when you are not writing?

Listening to music. I love music in all its wonderful shapes, styles and sometimes grandeur. I listen to anything from rock, pop, country, metal to even classical. It all just depends on what kind of mood I’m in at the time. that and being a full time chef takes up more than enough of my time.

9. What is your favorite childhood book and why?

It’s quite strange, because even though I love writing and I love certain stories I don’t remember being much of an avid reader as a kid. Even now, I much prefer to create stories myself than read ones. But you couldn’t go wrong by reading one of Roald Dahl’s often bittersweet books.

10. If you were stranded on an island which 3 book characters from any series would you want with you?

Okay so I couldn’t think of three but one I would definitely want is the Mad Hatter, obviously I can’t imagine there being much to do on a dessert island. So the mad hatter would at least make things interesting, but I guess maybe the only problem with him would be that you wouldn’t really know at what point you were starting to go crazy. But I can imagine that the idea would get old very quickly. Probably from the very first second you were with him you would think you were crazy.

As Ben Porter felt bad for not being able to choose three characters for the last question he has very kindly provided us with one of his awesome poems as a hidden question 11! Thanks Ben!

THE LADY OF THE LAKE

She takes her first step out onto the frozen lake,

Wondering just how much pressure it will take for the ground below her to finally break.

She was the first but one by one they’ll follow her down,

And like lambs to the slaughter they won’t even make a sound.

No one knows how she got this far,

Maybe it was by slowly picking apart all the goodness in her heart.

But the children gather round even though they still can’t remember what they came here for,

But all they know for sure is that they all have something missing deep at their core.

So like moths to a flame they quickly move in closer,

They’re the ones that are going to have to pay the price for her not once ever feeling any form of closure.

Her bitter sweet lullaby is always what draws them in,

They hear it everywhere they go until it finally seeps in under their skin.

Then in a flash of light her singing stops and the ice is gone,

And just like anchors they sink to the bottom as she once again continues to sing her song.

The parents are powerless to stop her as every year she trades a hundred lost souls for the chance of finally being free,

But she’s so lost in her desires that I can’t see how this could ever end happily.

Thanks for Joining us today Ben and taking part in on of our Lets get 10 know you interviews!

36aa1-picture1

Leave me a message after the beep...

